Tottenham Hotspur v Swansea City Match History 1928 to 2012

  • The Fighting Cock is a forum for fans of Tottenham Hotspur Football Club. Here you can discuss Spurs latest matches, our squad, tactics and any transfer news surrounding the club. Registration gives you access to all our forums (including 'Off Topic' discussion) and removes most of the adverts (you can remove them all via an account upgrade). You're here now, you might as well...

    Get involved!

Latest Spurs videos from Sky Sports


Tottenham Hotspur host Swansea City at White Hart Lane on Sunday 16th December 2012 (KO 13:30) in the 16th round of matches in the 2012-13 Premier League season.

Spurs come into the match in 5th place in the table on 26 points, while Swansea are in 8th place on 23 points. This will be the 40th time the two teams have met.

Swansea City were founded in 1912 as Swansea Town (they changed their name to Swansea City in 1969) and joined the Second Division of the Southern League for the 1913-14 season. After World War One, The Jacks became members of the SL First Division and joined the Football League in season 1920-21 when the Southern League was incorporated to form the Third Division of the Football League. The following season the division was re-named the Third Division South.

The first meeting between Spurs and Swansea came in the Second Division in November 1928 at Vetch Field with the home side winning 4-0. The reverse fixture in March 1929 at White Hart Lane ended in a 1-1 draw.

The clubs met for a further eight seasons in Division Two between seasons 1930-31 and 1938-39 with 10 wins for Spurs, 2 wins for Swansea and 4 matches drawn.

During the Second World War, the clubs played two games in the Football League South with a win each.

The clubs played for two more seasons in Division Two after WW2 with three wins for Spurs and one for Swansea.

Spurs and Swansea have played five games in the Football League Cup, the first of which came in the second round in September 1970 with Tottenham winning 3-0 at the Lane with goals from Steve Perryman, Martin Peters and Roger Morgan.

Eight years later, Swansea drew with Spurs 2-2 at Vetch Field in the second round first leg and won 3-1 at White Hart Lane.

The most recent League Cup meetings came in the second round in 1991 with Swansea winning 1-0 at home in the first leg and Spurs winning 5-1 at White Hart Lane with goals from Paul Stewart, Vinnie Samways, Gary Lineker, Paul Allen and an own goal.

Swansea City won promotion to the Top Flight of English Football for the first time in season 1981-82 and were league leaders at one stage before finishing in 6th position. The match at Vetch Field in September 1981 resulted in a 2-1 win for The Swans with Glenn Hoddle scoring for Spurs, while the return match at the Lane in May 1982 was won 2-1 by Spurs with Gary Brooke scoring both goals.

A similar set of results came in Swansea's second season in Division One with a 2-0 home win in Swansea and a 1-0 home win in Tottenham.

The two clubs came in a friendly played in Swansea in November 1992, which resulted in a 3-3 draw.

Tottenham Hotspur and Swansea City have never met in the FA Cup. Swansea became the first Welsh club to play in the Premier League by winning the play-off against Reading at Wembley 4-2 thanks mainly to a Scott Sinclair hat-trick.

The fixture at the Liberty Stadium in December 2011 finished in a 1-1 draw with Spurs going ahead just before half-time through Rafael van der Vaart but Swansea salvaged a point with a late equaliser from Scott Sinclair.

Rafael van der Vaart put Spurs 1-0 up at halftime in the match at White Hart Lane in April 2012 with a 19th minute goal. Sigurdsson equalised for Swansea in the 59th minute but a brace from Emmanuel Adebayor secured the three points for Spurs.

During the summer Tottenham Hotspur signed Icelandic midfielder Gylfi Sigurdsson from 1899 Hoffenheim but who had been on loan at Swansea City for the 2011-12 season

Overall, Spurs have won 21, Swansea have won 10 and 8 of the 39 matches played so far between the two clubs have been drawn.

Terry Boyle
Derek Brazil
Ivor Brown
Ron Burgess (also Swansea coach & manager)
Steven Caulker
Willie Davies
Gerry Francis (Swansea player, Spurs manager)
Roger Gibbins
Mark Gower
Charlie Handley
Percy Hooper
Jack Illingworth
Cliff Jones
Ernie Jones
Mark Kendall
Derek King
Doug Livermore (Swansea coach, Spurs asst. manager)
Terry Medwin (Spurs player, Swansea asst. manager)
Joe Meek
Paul Price
Wayne Routledge
Gylfi Sigurdsson

Micky Stead
Arthur Willis (Spurs player, Swansea coach)
Alan Woods

Top Bottom